Psalm 18:32 (King James Version)

32It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect.

 

It is God who gives us strength to go forward. The definition of the word persevere is to persist in anything undertaken; maintain a purpose in spite of difficulty, obstacles, or discouragement; continue steadfastly.

Some years ago I was hurting really bad. I felt like I was not accomplishing anything in my life. I did not have a job and I was getting really depressed about not providing for my family. I felt like a loser and failure. I felt as if my world was crashing all around me. I did not want to read my bible or even praise. Of course I would go to church and put on the smiles but inside I felt like a loser. One day I went out to a job interview and the company gave me the job, as long as I got my selling license. I went down to the D.M.V. and I asked for a selling license and they told me what I needed and after everything I did they told me I had to pay $97.00 for my license. I did not have any money at the time, “so how was I going to get this job?” I decided at that very moment to give up! I decided that I was not going to persevere. I was very negative! I didn’t know what I was going to do. I was upset and I began to cry. I called out on the Lord and told Him everything that He was doing wrong. I told Him that He did not understand and I yelled out “how are You going to fix my problem?”

I decided to drive to my Dad and Mom’s house and as I was on my way there when I heard a still small voice tell me to read the book of Mark. So, I got out my bible and sat on my Dad and Mom’s couch and I  began to read the book of Mark. I started to see all that Jesus went through. Jesus persevered through the agony of His people’s accusations, the denial of a friend, spitting, punching, a man named Pontius Pilate, the scourging, the nails, the cross and even death. I began to cry out and I found myself looking to Jesus to ask for forgiveness. I had to ask for forgiveness of refusing persevering. I was sad for acting foolishly. I was sad for telling God that He did not know what I was going through. I needed God to just love me. I needed to be hugged and loved on. I sat on the couch for about 4 hours and I just cried and all of a sudden I heard the Lord start speaking to me and telling me that He loved me and that everything was going to be alright. He told me I needed to persevere and to stop giving up! I had an awesome time with the Lord. It was just me and God. I felt loved and I felt encouraged. I decided that I was not going to quit or give up, but, I was going to persevere. God gave me the strength to push ahead!

You know God wants you to persevere through it all. The only way you can do this is to count on the Lord for your strength. It is however, your responsibility to persevere in spite of the difficulties ahead. I would say that if you are going through something right now, look to God for strength. Don’t give up! There are too many Christians giving up today! They feel as if they can not hang on. Well, without the Word of God in your heart and in your mouth you will not be able to hold on. With the Word of God in your heart and in your mouth you will be able to meet all circumstances. Why? Because the Lord your God has equipped you with His Word and has given you His Son to teach you how to speak, say and persevere. God has given you strength to persevere. Habakkuk 3:19 The LORD God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places. Stop trying to do it all yourself and ask God for help. Lean on God’s arms and not on your friends and family. Stop looking at everyone else’s miracles and blessings and go and get your’s.  Just around the corner is your miracle. Just around the corner you are about to come out of your situation. So don’t stop now! Keep pushing ahead!

Walking in the blessing,


Pastor Philip Roman

Love Walk Christian Center

 

Comments
  1. buttermilk80 says:

    It is an unspeakably wonderfull place to live, knowing that Jesus is in control. And there is a certain “giving up” He is looking for. He has expectations for all of us, things we are allowed and expected to confront and deal with. But the other 99.99999999% belongs to Him.

    By His Grace.

  2. Freedomborn says:

    Thank you dear Pastor Phillip, as I sit here with Heidi who is just learning how much God Loves her, I was overwhelmed with thankfulness for your Loving message, my tears are of Joy in knowing like me you never gave up and it was because God never let go of you or me, yes we have to seek Him with all our being but it is His Love for us that He shows in so many ways that makes us want to continue to seek Him and not give up.

    Heidi said to say how wonderful you did not give up too, she loved your honesty and that you feel you can now Trust God and that you saw the light at the end of the tunnel of despair as she has now done.

    When I experienced Pastor Phillip my time of great fear and doubt, our Loving Lord also gave me Scripture to hold onto ( see below) Jesus The Living Word, my Lord and Saviour who I Love passionately because He first Loved me has shown it to be very much a reality in my Life.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Thank you again dear Christian Brother and may you and your Loved ones be greatly blessed as you walk in Jesus footprints.

    Christian Love from both of us and Heidi too – Anne

  3. Freedomborn says:

    Reblogged this on Freedomborn…set free and commented:
    Anne said I could Reblog your Story Pastor Phillip to thank you again because, when we read your story I knew that God would not let me down either and I could Trust Him and now I know no matter how bad things get I will not give up, He will help me and I will never have to worry about Him leaving me, He really Loves me like He has shown He does to others that I have met on Anne’s Blog and you too. I’m going home tomorrow but I will never be the same again, God has touched my heart and as Anne says He is Awesome and I Love Him so much. I will be back in July and I hope we will meet again, thanks for your special Story – Heidi

Leave a Reply

