His ways or mine?

Posted: October 10, 2009 in God

“Hear counsel, receive instruction, and accept correction, that you may be wise in the time to come. Many plans are in a man’s mind, but it is the Lord’s purpose for him that will stand.”- Proverbs 19:20-21

Opening our ears and being ready to receive counsel is very important. Many just want to hear what they want to hear. We sometimes think we know best. You may wonder, why hasn’t God spoken to me? Have I done something wrong? Has He heard my prayer? Doesn’t He care?

God does care and He has been listening the whole time. Here it is… God has answered, but we have not heard because we have been listening to others counsel and not God’s counsel. God has His perfect will for your life and He will direct you if you will listen. What happens is we try and put our counsel together and we also try to put our own plans together. We have not consulted with God about any of our ideas and we most certainly have not heard what He wants us to do. Either we will decide to listen to man, our own ideas, or God’s.

I have listened to others and it has gotten me into trouble. I have tried my own ideas and many have failed. When I listen to the Lord, everytime His ways have been perfect. You may say but what if it fails? God’s ways will not fail and they will not hurt you. God is not a God of hurt. God is a God of Love! His correction brings life and peace to those that are willing to listen.

Let’s look at scripture that Jesus spoke in  Matthew 13:15For this people’s heart is waxed gross, and their ears are dull of hearing, and their eyes they have closed; lest at any time they should see with their eyes and hear with their ears, and should understand with their heart, and should be converted, and I should heal them.

The peoples heart has grown dull and their ears have grown dull and their eyes have been closed. If you would be open to the things of the Lord He will give you good counsel and direction. If you would allow Him to direct your path instead of others or even yourself He will put and keep you on the right path. First you have to put your complete trust in Him.

Sometimes I think I need to counsel God but yet all the time it was me that was getting in the way! Let go and let God show you a new path and direction. He will set you up to where you can not fail. We serve an awesome God!

I love you all,

Comments
  1. Darin Adkins says:

    Awesome word. I am in a season of learning how to hear Gods voice. Thank you Pastor Phil for sowing the word of God into me.

Leave a Reply

