Setting Your Affections

Posted: November 13, 2009 in Bible, God, Joy, Love, Peace
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Setting our affections, what does that mean? What are you setting your affections on? Who are you setting your affections on? Why are you setting your affections on things that don’t really matter? Who should you set your affections on? This last question is probably my favorite one!

Isn’t bizarre that we have placed things in a hierarchical manner? The things that supposedly matter to us most are the things that we place at the top of our list. These things for the most part do not include God and are not godly related. We place our churches and family above God. We place our parents and Pastors above God. This will lead to poor results. Paul the Apostle wrote a letter to the church at Colosse and he was talking to them about how to walk in the true center of the Christian life.

He tells us in Colossians 3:1-2 If YOU then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God. Set YOUR affections on the things above, not on things on the earth. This word Affection is also translated MIND.

Why did Paul tell us this? See I believe Paul is not just speaking to the church of Colosse, rather he is speaking to the church! Meaning the whole body of Christ. Look at what the world is offering us today! When we set our minds on the things of this earth we will lose everything. Why would I say such a thing? Because everything on this earth is temporal. So why did he speak it? He spoke it because the church today is dabbling in full destruction. The church meaning the people who come to the church are filling their days and minds with Fornication, those animal impulses and all that is earthly in you that is employed in sin]: sexual vice, impurity, sensual appetites, unholy desires, and all greed and covetousness, for that is idolatry (the defying of self and other created things instead of God) anger, rage, bad feeling toward others, curses and slander, and foul-mouthed abuse and shameful utterances from your lips! Do not lie to one another, for you have stripped off the old (unregenerate) self with its evil practices (Col 3:5-9)

When you look in these two verses you see that Paul said seek those things which are above.  Why?  The reason why we should seek the things that are above, is that Christ is seated at the right hand of the Father. Christ will always work on your behalf. He does not want you to fail and fade out. He does not want you to burn out. When we look to and seek after Christ, He will bless you and keep you. You need an answer call on Jesus. Speak to the Comforter (Holy Spirit)! Well why would I do such a thing? Because Jesus said I will send a new Comforter to you and He will come into you and dwell in you. The Holy Spirit will give you direction and instruction if you will ask.

Listen I have sought many people over different matters and man has failed me more than once.  I sought after Pastors who are men and women and they have failed me more than once. Now, when I grew up (spiritually in the Word of God) and started to seek after God and set my affections or mind on Him, then I received all that I needed. Here I am as a Pastor today, I don’t have all the answers people are looking for but one answer I can give to all is… seek first the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you. Set your mind on the things above. When your worried and doubtful set your mind on the things above. When you have a problem set your mind on things above. Why do I keep saying this? I say this because your circumstances are about to change and your life is about to get better when you set your mind on God and the things above. Don’t let your temporal circumstance keep you from seeking after God. I will say this last part that is very important… When things are going great and life seems to be fun, set your mind on the things above. We tend to start setting our minds on things above only when we are in trouble. We start reading our bibles and praying more when things are bad. So start seeking God and hunger now for God! Thirst now for God! Don’t do it in the beginning and middle of the storm do it before the storm. Make a confession of Faith. How does Faith come? It comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God.

Maybe you have sought other avenues for your finances, but if you will consult with God He will give you the best instructions. Maybe your not a Christian and you are reading this for the first time, and you have sought after psychics because you were looking for an answer. Guaranteed psychics are man and they will fail.  Try God! He will never fail you and He will never leave you. He always has the right answer.  There is only One that can do anything and He was the One that sent us His only begotten Son for you and I. God our Father, the possessor of Heaven and Earth. So you may say I want to see more about this God that you are talking about. I can show you Him by your confession of faith! Repeat this out loud:

Jesus I admit that I need you more now than ever. I confess that I am sinner. Please forgive me of my sins. I ask you into my life today. Come and live in me. I know that you died on the cross for my sins. You were risen from the dead on the third day and you said you will be coming back  again. I believe that you love me! God, you sent your Son Jesus, for me, so that I may have everlasting life. Jesus lives in me and I believe. Whom the Son sets free is free indeed. I am now the righteousness in Christ Jesus. I have been set apart. My life is now forever changed in eternity. Now shout HALLELUJAH. Why? Because your going to heaven! The Angels in Heaven are rejoicing.

If this is your first time of giving your heart to the Lord, will you please comment and drop me a line. Maybe you have re-committed your life back to the Lord because you were running, please comment and drop me a line. I will be praying for you all. May God Richly Bless You!

Jesus is my Lord

Comments
  1. Brenda B says:

    It is all about focus and He is and always should be the main thing. Great Msg.

  2. Aunt Char says:

    Setting your affections or mind on God is more than just giving God some of your time when praying or reading the Word. When you set your mind to something there is action involved, there is planning, determination & expectation involved as well. We need to set our affections before we come so that that mind can begin to be renewed Are you coming planning to be changed? Determined to hear God or honor Him? Expecting Him to meet you right there & then take you where He wants you to be? Great message Pastor Phil – got me excited enough to preach myself!

Leave a Reply

