Who Do You Love?

Posted: January 5, 2010 in Bible, God, Joy, Love, Peace

Good Evening All,

Tonight I would like to talk to you about Love.

Ephesians 6:23-24 (Amplified Bible)

23Peace be to the brethren, and love joined with faith, from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

    24Grace (God’s undeserved favor) be with all who love our Lord Jesus Christ with undying and incorruptible [love]. Amen (so let it be).

How many of us need love? There is a song out there that sings all we need is love. This is true but we also need love joined with faith. Love is not something that we just say! Love has great actions! Let’s look at 1 Corinthians 13:4-8.  4Love endures long and is patient and kind; love never is envious nor boils over with jealousy, is not boastful or vainglorious, does not display itself haughtily. 5It is not conceited (arrogant and inflated with pride); it is not rude (unmannerly) and does not act unbecomingly. Love (God’s love in us) does not insist on its own rights or its own way, for it is not self-seeking; it is not touchy or fretful or resentful; it takes no account of the evil done to it [it pays no attention to a suffered wrong].6It does not rejoice at injustice and unrighteousness, but rejoices when right and truth prevail.7Love bears up under anything and everything that comes, is ever ready to believe the best of every person, its hopes are fadeless under all circumstances, and it endures everything [without weakening].8Love never fails [never fades out or becomes obsolete or comes to an end]. As for prophecy ([d]the gift of interpreting the divine will and purpose), it will be fulfilled and pass away; as for tongues, they will be destroyed and cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away [it will lose its value and be superseded by truth].

 If we are to have peace in our minds and in our homes and in our relationships we need to have genuine love. God loves us with a divine and genuine love. How do we know this? We know this because of the scripture found in John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever would believe on Him shall not perish but have everlasting life. God absolutely loves you. So what is going to be your focus?

Your focus needs to be on the Lord and seeking His face. You need to become so desperate for Him that you will be willing to wait on the Lord. God is wanting a relationship not a hi then, bye then relationship. He wants you to express your love for Him. God is always waiting for your response. Get to place and read your bible, study His word, pray and seek His face. Ask Him to speak to you and I know that He will. Change your focus from you, you, you to Him, Him, Him. Delight yourself in the Lord. Keep looking to Him and He will guide and direct you.

Prayer:  Father I have acknowledged that I have been about my business and I have not placed you first in all that I do. Please forgive me! I will read my bible and seek You daily. I need Your help Lord to keep my focus on You. The Bible says that the Word of God will be a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path. Today I will make a covenant with You that I will seek you daily and read Your Word. I will hide Your Word in my heart and I will keep it at the forefront of my mind. I will be quick to open your word and keep it before my eyes. Thank You Lord for all that You do and thank You for loving me in spite of my shortcomings.

Comments
  1. Tina Galloway says:

    Pastor Phil thank you and God ya’ll know where I’m at in this life.Holy Spirit continue to guide pastors feet and words.just the right time all of the time. I needed to read those words. Amazing!how God works.

  2. Silvia Pulido says:

    This is just confirmation of what I have been reading in my LOVE DARE 365 Days book. God is so awesome and we thank Him for good pastors that speak the Word of God unto their sheep. Amen!

Leave a Reply

