The Simplicity of Perfection

Posted: January 6, 2010 in Bible, God, Love

Good Morning to You, 

I would like us to examine perfection. I know I already hear you telling me that you can’t be perfect. No one is perfect. Yes, I do agree, BUT, Jesus tells us to be perfect just like our Heavenly Father. If Jesus did not believe that you could not be perfect He would not have told you too. I can already hear the arguments now. Good, maybe I have your complete attention. Let’s look at the scriptures in Matthew 5:43-48 

Matthew 5:43-48 (King James Version)

 43Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy. 44But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; 45That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. 46For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans the same? 47And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others? do not even the publicans so? 48Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect. Can you see here what Jesus was giving to you. He is showing you how to become perfect. He has given us the perfect recipe for loving others as well as our enemies. Remember Jesus, when He was dying on the cross? What did He say when he was being persecuted? He was praying to the Father to forgive His enemies. Jesus said “Father forgive them for they know not what they do.” Talk about powerful! Well this can be you as well. When someone does not do you right and all they do is talk at you and speak bad about you to others, forgive them for they know not what they are doing. They are speaking against the child of the most high God. Aren’t you a child of God? 

Jesus says in the 44th verse that we are to love our enemies. Talk about weird! I must agree though, not because I am a Pastor, but because I am a mature Christian. Maybe someone flipped you the bird today! So what, bless them. Maybe your husband, wife, child or friend got on your last nerve today, Bless them. Maybe you know someone that does not believe in the Lord Jesus and they have hurt you, Bless them. Love them no matter what! This is a sign of growing into complete maturity of godliness in mind and character. This is what the Amplified bible says. 

Don’t just love those that love you! Love others that hate you and dispitefully use you. Be in prayer for these people and expect God to use you to minister to these people.  God loves all those that dispitefully use Him and His Word. God loves the just and the unjust. God loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son. So can you get perfect? Absolutely! Is it work? Yes! 

Prayer:  Father I am perfect and lacking nothing. I am Your child and I will walk in perfection according to Your Word. Jesus you say that I should be perfect like my Heavenly Father. I believe if you told me to do it, then it must be possible. If it were not so, then You would not have told me to do it. The same way you called Peter onto the water so will I be called to be perfect. If I should stray from perfection today, Holy Spirit, please convict me and convey unto me the ways of my error so that I may repent and be cleansed of all unrighteousness. Thank you my Heavenly Father for loving me. I will choose today to love others no matter what. I will love the unlovely. I will love those that hate me. I love those that persecute me. I will love those that dispitefully use me. I will love others and lay down my own rights. The love that is on the inside of me will not fail, fade out or become obsolete. The Love of God is shed abroad in my heart by the Holy Spirit. Now Praise God! 

Be Blessed,

I am Blessed and Highly Favored!

Leave a Reply

