Substance Builder

Posted: January 12, 2010 in God

Good Morning All, 

Proverbs 3:9-10 (King James Version)

 9Honour the LORD with thy substance, and with the firstfruits of all thine increase: 

 10So shall thy barns be filled with plenty, and thy presses shall burst out with new wine.  

How many of you really want to be blessed? What is keeping you from being blessed? Are you honoring the Lord with your substance? Are you honoring the Lord with firstfruits of all your increase? Are you honoring the Lord? 

I remember the first time I received a check for $638.00 and I was not married yet. I was really excited because I was blessed. I knew that I was going to tithe but I was only going to tithe on what I had received on my net check. There was a very special man in my life that was teaching me some godly principles. He is actually my father-in-law today. He asked me how much I was going to tithe. My reply was 64 dollars. His response was… OH so your going to rob God!I looked at him and thought in my heart who does he think he is? I was not robbing God. I always tithed on my net because that was my firstfruits of all my increase. Uncle Sam (government) got a large part of my income and so this is all I had left. So my response back to him, after thinking for just a moment, was, I am doing what the Word of God says! He at that moment began to teach me some great things that would better me, my income, my marriage and mine and Tara’s finances. He told me that the firstfruits of all my increase was not my net but my gross income. Well, I did not like that at first because that meant that I was about to write a check for $120.00  not $64.00. Talk about being persecuted, what a mean man I thought. In fact he told me that his future son-in-law was not going to rob God and cause his daughter to miss out on the blessings. He was absolutely right! I am thankful today that he taught me this principle. There is more to it than just writing out a check, it also has to do with honouring the Lord. 

That word “substance” in the Hebrew is “hon” which means wealth and riches. The bible does not say only honour the Lord with your riches but it also states to honour the Lord with all the firstfruits of your increase. So, have you increased or have you decreased? Is your tithes done according to God’s Word or is it based on Uncle Sams way? God wants us to completely honour Him in all that we do and say! When you give remember you are doing this for yourself not for anyone else. You are not doing this for your church, Pastors or anyone. You are doing this so that God will bless you! God’s Word is powerful and when you completely do all that it says, you will reap a harvest. Your barns will be full and your wine presses shall burst open with new wine! 

I do believe that I hear this in my spirit now, well I have tithed faithfully and I always give to the orphan, widow, homeless and the foreigner(sojourner). I really have not seen the increase! OK… but have you done it with a sparingly or grudging heart? Have you rejoiced when you gave your tithes and offerings? What does your heart say when the Pastor says that it is tithes and offering time? OK… so you say that your heart is right and you rejoice when you give but you are still not seeing the increase. How are you managing the funds that have come in? Are you faithful in your managing of the money you have? OK… so you are managing the funds properly or almost. Well… what are you saying about your finances? Are you telling people that you are always broke? Are you saying that you are poor or that you don’t have enough? Do you speak against your tithe and offerings? Do your words line up with God’s Word? 

Proverbs 18:21
Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and they who indulge in it shall eat the fruit of it [for death or life].
 

Start blessing your income, instead of killing it! Ask God to forgive you for mis-managing your income. Ask God to forgive you for speaking death to your finances! Ask God to forgive you for not rejoicing when you give your tithes and offerings. Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness and all these things shall be added to you! 

Confession over your finances: God Your Word declares that you love a cheerful giver. I am that cheerful giver and I can’t wait to bring my tithes and all the firstfruits of my increase into your house. I have decided today to only speak life into my finances. Your Word says that You will supply every one of my needs according to Your riches in Glory by Christ Jesus. This Word is Your bond and I am bound to You. For You to fail, means that I would have to fail. I am your child and You are my Father, you will not fail me or forsake! You always take care of Your children. So I will Thank You now for the fruit of my increase. You shall prosper my hands and You shall bless me! I will keep praise on my lips and if I should speak something that is contrary to Your Word please convict me so that I can get back on track. Devil you have better take an account, because I am blessed in this earth. I will not give the devil place in my finances by speaking words that are cross-wise with the Word of God! Amen! 

Now shout out loud! GLORY, HALLELUJAH! 

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

