Who are My Brothers, Sisters, and Mother?

Posted: January 19, 2010 in Bible, God, Joy, Love, Peace

Good Morning,

Matthew 12:50 (21st Century King James Version)

 50For whosoever shall do the will of My Father who is in Heaven, the same is My brother, and sister, and mother.”

This is a powerful statement that Jesus made when he was talking about family. What is the will of the Father? As a Christian, what is your role and responsibility?

We as Christians are supposed to draw men unto the Lord. That is the will of the Father! Look at Mark 16:15-20 this is the great commission. Go ye into all the world and preach the Gospel to every creature. Lay hands on the sick and they shall recover. In Jesus’ name shall they cast out demons! If we want to be called a friend of God then we need to do our part as Christians. You can not walk around and be afraid to share the Gospel. You can not walk around and just keep Jesus to yourself. Jesus needs to be available to every living creature. If you want to be called a Brother, Sister, or Mother by Jesus then you need to do the will of the Father. Don’t be ashamed of the Gospel! People will persecute you for talking about Jesus. Don’t let that discourage you though, because Jesus said it would happen.

I remember when I first gave my heart to the Lord, it was awesome! I wanted to share Jesus with everyone! One of many problems I had was that I was shy. I was afraid of rejection. I was concerned about what others thought about me. Then one day I broke out of my shell and I wanted to talk about Jesus with someone. This person was my best friend. He called me a fanatic and it broke my heart. Here I thought he was my best friend. I thought if I could share Jesus with anyone, it would have been him. Yeah Right! He dropped me like a bad habit! So I kept it to myself for a while and I tried again. He rejected me again and then this time I decided to lash out at him and I told him that he was going to hell! Talk about a so-called experience with Jesus! I was acting like a real fanatic this time. My approach was rude and crude! My approach was unlearned and ignorant! I knew I wanted to lead someone to Jesus but I did not know how! So how was I going to fix it? I decided that I would just kept my mouth shut and maybe someone would know that I was a Christian. That was my big plan! Well that did not work! My actions did not speak wisely either. How was I going to lead someone to Christ? What did I need to do?

I can hear it now, you probably would have said something different right? You are probably saying to yourself now, “I can’t believe he said that person was going to hell.” Well there have been many mistakes of my past but one thing I have learned is how to make Jesus available to a dying world. I am learning everyday on how to make Jesus a part of conversation. I am learning how to be a good witness by my speech as well as my daily actions. Jesus does call me His Brother and I proud to know  Jesus as my Lord and Savior. I am proud to share Jesus even though it hurts sometimes. I am not ashamed of the Gospel and I most certainly want to make Him known. Today if someone says I don’t want to accept Jesus into my heart, I say OK, but can I leave you with a prayer. 99.999 % of people will not reject prayer! I leave them with a prayer that will get them to call on the name of the Lord and it will get them to heaven. Then I always pray after I leave them.

Here is my prayer that I leave them with: Jesus I need You now, and I ask You to come into my heart and save my life. I acknowledge that I am a sinner that needs a savior. Thank You Lord!

This is my prayer for people after I leave them: Father Your Word is not void of power. I believe by faith that this person shall be saved and will make it to heaven! For Your Word is powerful and will cause men to be drawn to You. I thank You for this new life in Christ. I Thank You for the opportunity to share Jesus with this person. Thank You God for honoring Your Word. Then I just start to praise the Lord for this new life.

Are you a friend of God?

Comments
  1. Nikki Brackett says:

    Good afternoon,

    Pastor you are so right we must run and finish our course . I’m reminded of the scripture that says to ask for the old path. Because narrow is the path that leads to heaven. As we taught sunday school we used to remind the kids that you can only take yourself and people with you to heaven. We must make the finish line!!!

    Have a blessed day,
    Love In Christ
    Nikki & Richard

  2. Adrian Martinez says:

    I did the very same thing I told a girl once “WELL FINE GO TO HELL THEM..LITERALLY!”…she said was an atheis? But I have asked God to forgive me and reach her where she is .And I hope to see her someday to ask forgives and show God’s love love…(not his WRATH)
    LUV YA!

Leave a Reply

