Get Patience

Posted: January 20, 2010 in God

Good Morning,

James 1:3-4 (Amplified Bible)

3Be assured and understand that the trial and proving of your faith bring out endurance and steadfastness and patience.

    4But let endurance and steadfastness and patience have full play and do a thorough work, so that you may be [people] perfectly and fully developed [with no defects], lacking in nothing.

I used to believe this scripture to mean that I had to endure pain and hardache all the time. I felt as if James wrote this letter to tell me that all he expected me to do was to suffer. It would increase their patience and endurance which will make your faith stronger! This is like someone who told me I had to go through sickness in order to minister to someone with the same problem. They explained to me that God did it to me and that He was teaching me patience. Talk about a bunch or bologna. Yes there is times that we have pain and suffering but we don’t endure it by ourselves. You will endure pain and suffering if you don’t seek the Lord through prayer, fasting, and reading the Word (Bible).

We have been on a fast now for almost 21 days. For some it has been easy! For some it has been problematic! For some it has been an upper then a downer. Fasting takes perseverance, endurance, patience and the major one is faith. Without faith being at work then your endurance, steadfastness, and patience will never work. Faith takes more than words. Faith takes action! If you have quit the fast, my suggestion is get back on it and finish without looking back. Friday is the last day. Expect God to speak to you today and ask Him to help you persevere. Ask Him for direction and endurance. Fasting was never meant to be easy. If it was meant to be easy then everyone would do it. It is surrendering your flesh over to the Lord and seeking His Face. Fasting requires more than just giving up food. It requires giving up self. If fasting was not possible Jesus would have never stated, “These kind come out by prayer and fasting.”

So what does fasting require? Fasting requires faith, patience, endurance and steadfastness. Faith without works is dead! They need each other! Get back up from the ground and continue the race. God still loves you and will continue to use you.

Be Blessed.

Comments
  1. Nikki Brackett says:

    Thank You for your words fitly spoken. It’s been tuff to keep myself on this fast. I got a late start but, I want to finish strong. Thank you for telling me to pick myself up and keep running. I must remember the one who doesn’t finish the race is the one who quits trying.

    Have a blessed and wonderful day!
    Love In Christ,
    Nikki

  2. Paul says:

    I like that, “fully developed”…..time perfects a thing and brings it to maturity….
    Blessings Pastor Phil

Leave a Reply

