“The fear of man bringeth a snare: but whoso putteth his trust in the LORD shall be safe.”- Proverbs 29:25

I recently read a book that talked about overcoming fear. The title caught my attention and I wanted to see what the author had to say about fear. I started on the book right away. Right out of the first chapter I was taken back. This person had a fear of flying due to turbulence. Well I most certainly understood this person’s fear. Many people are afraid of flying! While flying is one of the most safe ways to travel, there are more people who are afraid of it. Why does this fear come on people? Why does it feel so real? These are questions I have had to ask myself in the midst of going through something that caused me to fear. The author proceeded to say that there is good fear and bad fear. He tried to make a distinction, that there is a good fear and bad fear. He was not talking about the King James Version of using the word fear. Ye shall fear the Lord thy God. The word fear there means to have reverence. I was taken back and I almost stopped reading the book. I pushed through and I finished the book after 5 days. There was a lot of good things in the book but that one part stood out the most. He was trying to make a distinction of good fear and bad fear. Why am I making such a stink about this…

People, there is only one FEAR and there is nothing good at all in it or about it. How do I know this? The above scripture says the fear of man brings a snare. This tells me that if I fear, I am looking forward to being caught and hurt. The enemy wants the Christian to believe there is a good fear and bad fear so as to keep you held captive. This is not true! If this were true then the Lord would have made a distinction between good fear and bad fear. Fear causes doubt and unbelief! If we have doubt and unbelief then we would always be concerned about whether we are saved or not. If we continue to fear, then we have placed ourselves into the devils hands. It’s much easier to trust than to fear. Most people have this confused though. They put their faith in fear and then they have major issues. Fear is a perverted faith. It is faith in doubt, worry, unbelief…etc. The bible makes it clear that we are not to worry or fret or have anxiety.

Philippians 4:6

6Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition ([a]definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God.

God wants us to trust in Him. He wants us to believe His Word and to stop fearing. Fear can cause you to die young and what benefit would anyone have with a dead person. What can you offer the people from the grave? Nothing! I encourage you to stop fearing and start trusting in the Lord.

Stay tuned for the second part of this battle!

Being a Blessing to My Father in Heaven,

Pastor Philip Roman

Love Walk Christian Center

Leave a Reply

