Titus 2:11-12

“For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men, Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;”

As we start a new year we begin to look at things we must do and things we want to do. We are back to work after a long weekend and our whole new year has started. The things of 2010 are now 3 days behind us. What are we expecting this new year? What have you talked to God about this year? What do you want to change about yourself this year?

Many people make new years resolutions and after about 3 weeks they have already failed in everything they have decided they wanted to do. New years resolutions are worldly based on the flesh and the desires of the flesh. If you want to see a change in your life then do live according to the Word of God which will fulfill everything and the Word of God will not fail.

As we start our month fasting before the Lord, I am reminded about the things that God requires of us as Christians. God wants us to live soberly, righteously and godly. As we fast we tend to give up a lot of things that bring us enjoyment and we make fasting a terrible thing. Fasting is an awesome time between you and God. It is a time where you take yourself and set yourself apart from the worldly things. It is a time for you to get closer to the Father and open your heart and mind to His love, peace, joy, strength, faith…ETC. Fasting is a time to hunger for more of the Lord and His presence. Fasting is a time to set yourself apart for His Glory. Just because you go without food or food types does not mean that you have to be miserable. Find peace and joy during this time. What a blessing it is to fast and hunger for the Lord.

Take this bit of encouragement… I have seen people healed of whatever ailed them, marriages become reconciled, lost family members come to Christ and a  whole lot of other blessings. One of the greatest things I have seen when people are fasting is the Glory of God on each face. This is a good reason to live soberly, righteously, and godly. All three of these things cause the Glory of God to be displayed on the earth.

Philippians 3:13-14

13Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

14I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Make it a start today by forgetting those areas of your life you messed up on. Forget about what happened in 2010 and press forward to the things ahead. To make a change in your life, one must be willing to change. If you have never fasted before then make a change and be willing to stay the course! Fasting is an integral part of being a Christian. We can see Jesus did it, Moses did it, Daniel did it and many others. There are many great benefits to your physical body when you fast. There is one crucial part to fasting. Fasting requires prayer time and reading your Bible. If you fast without both of these… All you’re doing is a diet.

You can do this and I know God will bless you. How many of you want to be blessed? Who among you are willing to go for 21 days and see what God can do? How many are up for the challenge? How many are ready to see God bless your life abundantly? God is waiting for your time and He wants to get close to you. Are you ready?

 

Living the Blessed Life,

 

Pastor Philip Roman

Love Walk Christian Center

Comments
  1. buttermilk80 says:

    I was asked what my resolutions might be this year. For the first time in my life I realized I am living my resolutions every day. I have no further desire to accomplish. I am trusting Jesus. I am walking in His ways to my utmost ability. I have the confidence before the Almighty God I had sought for all my life.

    My resolution for the new year? I have the same one I have found implimented every day of the previous year. Jesus! I might be amiss, but I believe resolutions are for those who are not living up to the expectations of themselves, others, and God.

    By His Grace.

Leave a Reply

