John 14:7

If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him.

 

During a fast it is imperative for the believer to come to a place of getting to know the Father. God is awesome! He wants and desires for you to get to know Him. Jesus demonstrated God the Father to you and I in many areas of His ministry. Jesus showed us how God multiplies, heals, blesses, restores, reconciles, has compassion, and many other ways. Jesus showed us how God speaks and reacts to circumstances. We really need to know the Father! Knowing God is not a hard thing to do. Knowing God requires relationship and spending time with Him in prayer and reading the Bible.

Relationship requires time. To get to know the Father we must give our time. We give our time to other relationships but to God we tend to be slothful, lethargic, and apathetic. God wants the best of your time! So when is the best time to get with God? I really like to get with God in the morning and also in the evening after my children have gone to sleep. The house becomes a little more quiet and I can focus more on just Him and His Word. Fasting is not the only time we get together with God, this is a daily thing.

Our first desire should be to get to know God the Father. Philippians 3:10 Amp10[For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [[a]which it exerts over believers], and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed [in spirit into His likeness even] to His death, [in the hope]. There are many out there that know how to quote scripture but there is a lack of knowing who God really is. Quoting scripture is great but if you lack the relationship with Him then all the quoting will be because you have a good memory and good brain knowledge. Brain knowledge will only get you so far, but with relational knowledge you will get further and you will be able to bring demonstration of God’s Holy Word. We as God’s children need to have true knowledge. True knowledge is knowing that you know that you know. Meaning you know God will never leave you or forsake you. Knowing that God is your Father and He will guide you and direct your paths. Knowing that you are His (son/daughter). Your relationship with God can be so strong that not even the devil can get you off track.

Let me leave you with a few scriptures of who God is. This is not an all-inclusive list but it will give you a start…

God is the Restorer Psalm 23:3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

God is the Deliver Psalm 70:5 But I am poor and needy: make haste unto me, O God: thou art my help and my deliverer; O LORD, make no tarrying.

God is the Redeemer Isaiah 63:16 Doubtless thou art our father, though Abraham be ignorant of us, and Israel acknowledge us not: thou, O LORD, art our father, our redeemer; thy name is from everlasting.

God is your Strength Isaiah 12:2 Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.

God is your Guide Proverbs 3:6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

God is your Counselor Psalm 16:7 I will bless the LORD, who hath given me counsel: my reins also instruct me in the night seasons.

God is your Peace Ephesians 2:14 For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us;

God is Immanuel Matthew 1:23 Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.

God is your Strong Tower Proverbs 18:10 The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.

God is your Hiding Place Psalm 32:7 Thou art my hiding place; thou shalt preserve me from trouble; thou shalt compass me about with songs of deliverance. Selah.

God is your Wisdom 1 Corinthians 1:24 But unto them which are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God.

God is your Everlasting Father Isaiah 9:6 For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

God is your Hope Psalm 71:5 For thou art my hope, O Lord GOD: thou art my trust from my youth.

 

In God’s Grace,

Pastor Philip Roman

Love Walk Christian Center

Leave a Reply

