John 15:5

 

I am the vine, ye [are] the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

 

Limitation – a condition of limited ability; a defect or failing.

 

We as Christians have been told that we are limited. The world and the devil have been telling us that we will never be able to rise above our circumstances and limitations. Christians you are only limited by yourself and the words you speak out of your mouth. When I was a child I used to play a lot of baseball. I was hitting the ball at about 2 1/2 years old. I had great hand and eye coordination. My Dad used to tell me that I could do anything if I would just put my mind to it. When I was little I used to believe what my Dad said. As I began growing up and making new friends I started to listen to them and they always told me that I had limitations. At a young age of about 10 I started to believe everyone else. I started to believe that I was limited. I believed that there were things that I could never do. I not only listened to my friends but I started to speak like that about myself. After about 11 years of this learned behavior, I had some really difficult times. I was finding myself depressed and disgusted about everything. Here I was 21 years old and I was feeling like a total failure. I felt as if I would never accomplish anything. I was limited by my own mind and the words of my mouth.

After that melt down I decided that things were going to be different. I was going to read my Bible more and I was going to pray more. My wife and I ended up in a great church that started to boost my morale and the Pastor was teaching me that I did not have to be limited. I had Jesus who is my source and with Him I could do anything. It’s amazing how my Dad told me that I could do anything. Yet after a few years I learned how the world spoke and I spoke negatively about myself. Then I happened to look at scripture and I heard my Heavenly Father tell me that I could do anything. Since then I have done lot’s of great things. I am no longer limited by this world or by what people say about me.

Today you might be thinking “how will this work for me?” How can I keep going on? How can I do the things that God wants me to do? You can do it because with Jesus on your side you have the winning team. You are a winner!

If you have been fasting and you’re having a hard time then look at your words and see if they are negative or positive. After all you are ruled by the words of your mouth. Have you limited your belief that you can finish this fast? Fasting is not just about giving up food. Fasting is about getting closer to God. Stop limiting yourself with God. God loves you and He wants you to succeed in all you do.

Here is a little excerpt from the book I am reading called “The Power of a Praying Life” by Stormie Omartian. “Jesus enables you to do what you could not do without Him.” Stop trying to do everything on your own and stop trying to do it the worlds way. Look to God and ask Him how He would do it. God will show you and teach you. After all, we are LFL (learning for Life).

Without Jesus we are definitely not going to be able to do anything. We will not accomplish the big things in this life. With Jesus we can do all things. Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengtheneth me.

So you can finish this “fast” and you can be successful through this “fast.” You can do anything and everything as long as you have the Lord Jesus in you and on your side.

 

Blessed to be a blessing,

Pastor Philip Roman

Love Walk Christian Center

Leave a Reply

