1 Peter 1:15-16

“But as he which hath called you is holy, so be ye holy in all manner of conversation; Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.”

 

Fasting is a time to look at your words. It’s a time to examine and make sure that you are Conversing Holiness. We need to see how we are speaking and to evaluate what we are speaking. Many times we get ourselves into trouble because of the words we speak. Sure things are going to make you angry. Ephesians 4:26-27 26Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath: 27Neither give place to the devil. It’s what we do with the anger and how it’s used.

I am not going to go any further with anger but I did want you to see this. Ephesians 4:22-24 22That ye put off concerning the former conversation the old man, which is corrupt according to the deceitful lusts; 23And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; 24And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness. Paul is really ministering to the church of today. The world we live in is showing us how to live in lust and to carry corrupt communication.

We need our mouths and lives renewed daily. Watching what you say is not God’s responsibility. It is the responsibility of the believer. We need to converse with holiness. Speaking about others in a negative sense is not holiness! Speaking negatively about yourself is not holiness! Speaking contrary to God’s Word is not holiness! We need to be holy like the Lord.

As you are fasting these 21 days, I want you to start asking God to show you how you are speaking. I want you to ask God to help you to watch what you are saying. You can pray this way… Father help me to be quick to listen and slow to speak. Help me to see the words before I release them out of my mouth. Father I want to be holy as You are Holy. I want to curve my speech about others and myself. I want to love others even when they speak poorly. Help me to see where I fail in my conversations and help me to clean up my speech. Help me to converse holiness!

Jesus talked a lot about the mouth because He knew it was a way to bring curses and blessings upon our lives. We are called a rare and peculiar kind of people.

1 Peter 2:9 But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light;We are set apart for the Lord. So be set apart for Him and watch your mouth!

 

Be Blessed,

Pastor Philip Roman

Love Walk Christian Center

 

Comments
  1. Tina says:

    Thanks Pastor, u certainly brightened my day w that photo. U know excatly where I need 2 b.

Leave a Reply

