The Witness

Posted: January 4, 2012 in God

Image

John 8:18

King James Version (KJV)

 18I am one that bear witness of myself, and the Father that sent me beareth witness of me.

 Do you bear witness of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit? Is your life a witness-bearing life that demonstrates the inward and outward witness of being a Christian? The word witness means to be a witness, to bear witness, i.e. to affirm that one has seen or heard or experienced something, or that he knows it because hes taught by divine revelation or inspiration. (blueletterbible.com)

God is teaching you and I just like He taught Jesus. We know this because Jesus said He could do nothing except as He heard the Father.

John 5:30

Amplified Bible (AMP)

30I am able to do nothing from Myself [independently, of My own accord–but only as I am taught by God and as I get His orders]. Even as I hear, I judge [I decide as I am bidden to decide. As the voice comes to Me, so I give a decision], and My judgment is right (just, righteous), because I do not seek or consult My own will [I have no desire to do what is pleasing to Myself, My own aim, My own purpose] but only the will and pleasure of the Father Who sent Me.

We are supposed to be just like Jesus. We are supposed to witness about Him. We are also supposed to say and do just like Jesus. If the Father did not tell us to do something then we should not do it. Everyday you are a witness to all people. Your attitude will say what you witness too. The way you talk will be a witness but also the way you act in front of others will be a witness.

When I used to be a waiter in the restaurant industry, I would wait on Christian folks after church. Most would be the rudest people I have ever dealt with. Here I was a Christian and I would have to leave services early so I could be at work. I would see Christians walking in and looking nice and all dressed up, but their attitudes did not reflect them being a Christian. Their attitudes would reflect the worlds response… You would think that because they just left their house of worship that they would come in and treat their waiter with a good attitude. This is most commonly not the case!

Where was the outward witness of Jesus? Never the less when they would tip it was if they forgot about give and it shall be given to you. It was like they forgot treat others as you would have them treat you. It was if they forgot they needed to show others kindness. Amazing that people call themselves Christians. So think about this every time you go or do something. Think about how you witness! Be a good witness today and let the light of Lord be seen. Be a Witness!

Be Blessed,

Leave a Reply

