I am not an EX-ANYTHING!

Posted: February 1, 2012 in God

Romans 6:19

Amplified Bible (AMP)

19I am speaking in familiar human terms because of your natural limitations. For as you yielded your bodily members [and [a]faculties] as servants to impurity and ever increasing lawlessness, so now yield your bodily members [and [b]faculties] once for all as servants to righteousness (right being and doing) [which leads] to sanctification.

I am not an ex-badboy. I am not an ex-alcoholic. I am not an ex-drug dealer. I am not an ex-prostitute. I am not an ex-anything. The Bible shows me that I am the righteousness in Christ Jesus. I used to say some of these things when I used to testify to people. I would get up and share who I used to be but I would never share who I am now. This is a big problem in the world. We always talk about what EX we used to be. We promote the EX’s, but not righteousness.

When Jesus went to the cross for you and I, He made righteousness available to all. Romans 5:17
For if by one man’s offence death reigned by one; much more they which receive abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness shall reign in life by one, Jesus Christ.) Jesus gave us a great gift…GRACE! You can’t earn it and you can not deserve it. You have been saved by grace.

So instead of sharing how you used to be an ex-druggie or ex-alcoholic, start sharing how you came to righteousness. Everyone has a past! Who cares! We put more weight on how we used to be rather than placing how much we have become the righteousness in Christ Jesus.

The moment I asked Jesus to be the Lord of my life, I received forgiveness of sins and I took on righteousness. The moment I asked Jesus into my heart, I went from an EX to the righteousness. I went from the old man Phil who people liked because of how I partied, to Philip Roman the righteousness in Christ Jesus. My name stayed the same but my circumstances changed. My name stayed the same but my life just took on a newness. I went from being unrighteous, unruly, rowdy, wild, unmanageable, uncontrollable, disobedient, disruptive, undisciplined, to being sanctified, redeemed, graced, glorified, holy, righteous, justified, legitimate, defensible, supportable, rightful; admissible, allowable, understandable, and acceptable.

I am not saying that I did not struggle with things still but I started to learn how to walk out righteousness in my life. I have learned that I am not an EX-ANYTHING. I took on the life of Jesus. So if you are going to testify, testify about how God moved on your life and how you have a testimony about His grace. Don’t stand up and say my name is… I am an alcoholic, druggie, prostitute, gang member…ETC. Stand up and say I am… the righteousness in Christ Jesus, I am redeemed by the blood of the lamb. You can tell people where you used to be but that you have a new name and new life. Don’t dwell on the past because it will call you to come back! Numbers 14:4 And they said one to another, Let us make a captain, and let us return into Egypt. Don’t desire your past but desire the righteous things of God.

Isaiah 62:2-4 (Message Bible) Foreign countries will see your righteousness, and world leaders your glory.You’ll get a brand-new name straight from the mouth of God. You’ll be a stunning crown in the palm of God’s hand, a jeweled gold cup held high in the hand of your God. No more will anyone call you Rejected, and your country will no more be called Ruined. You’ll be called Hephzibah (My Delight), and your land Beulah (Married), Because God delights in you and your land will be like a wedding celebration.Be Blessed Today!

Scripture Study: 1 Thessalonians 5:4-16

Comments
  1. jesusmyeverything says:

    Nice post. I think it is true that we need to focus on our true identity in Christ. I think it can be positive though to talk about one’s past to encourage others who are stuck in a certain lifestyle – it might give them hope – that they can be made new too! Maybe it’s not black and white – maybe it’s that we are ‘ex-anythings’ and it’s not that we are ‘totally new’ (yet)- our whole journey makes us into who we are – our past has meaning – but in Christ we are totally made new – but this newness is a process we are walking out. It’s the now and not yet perhaps?

    • pastorphilip says:

      I agree with what you are saying. While I do have a past, I have to be careful not to go back there. I have always been a big observer. I like to watch people and listen to what they speak about. What I have found through many years is that people that tend to dwell on their past usually try to pick it back up when they are going through a problem. This is where the Children of Israel messed up. God blessed them and brought them out with a mighty hand but they still dwelt in their past and desired to go back just when it got tough. I use my testimony of where I was often. But, I do make sure people understand more about the grace of God than my old self. I think we promote our old ways more than we promote Jesus. I do agree with you completely we are walking out this newness. The one thing I will say is that Salvation and grace are instant the moment we receive Christ. It’s us who have to walk this out by renewing our minds daily. Romans 12:1-2. Thank you for posting. It is a true blessing to know others are reading this blog. I just want to be a blessing after all we are blessed by the best. Jesus! Have a blessed day!

  2. Patty Bailey says:

    I love the RIGHTEOUSNESS OF JESUS CHRIST– good strong and encouraging message–love, auntie patty

  3. Paul says:

    I feel the fire….in him we are NEW creature. The other day I told someone I havent aged a bit since I was 19… I didnt lie!…..

    Pastor Phil, you are a blessing
    Paul

Leave a Reply

