The All Sufficient God #2

Posted: February 9, 2012 in God
Tags: , , , , , ,

Isaiah 41:10

King James Version (KJV)

 10Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

Our main focus for the day is the words in bold. For I am with thee. We understand that we do not have to worry or fret or even walk in any form of fear because the Lord is with us.

I remember when I was a little boy, we were traveling to California from Seattle Washington. We were making our way down the I-5 Freeway and my aunts car broke down. It was just me, my brother, baby sister, aunt and my mom. We were in a little Pinto. We stopped on the side of the road and we didn’t know what to do. Cell phones were not made or available, so all we had were the highway phones. The only problem with that was the closest one was 3 or 4 miles behind us. We were close to an off ramp so my mom said let’s go and see if there is a pay phone around this exit. We will call for a tow truck and we will call your dad to let him know. The hard thing about all of this is that it was around 12:00 midnight. The lights were broken around this off ramp. That meant we were walking into an area with nothing to see. We would not be able to see our own hands in front of us. We did not even have a flashlight. My aunt put on her head lights but that soon fell away into an outer darkness that made me scared. It was what my mom said that changed my concern…

She said Phil, God is with us and we do not have to be afraid. I remember her asking me if I had received the Lord and I replied “Yes!” She said then we do not have to be afraid. We have the name Jesus that is higher and more powerful then this darkness. No demon can hurt us. Nothing can stop us or prevent us from going to where we are supposed to go. So after that, I got all excited and we began to walk and walk and walk. As a child it felt like forever. It was less than a mile but it felt like 10 miles. As we walked my mom began to sing songs and I helped. We sang for a while and then we quoted the 23rd Psalm. We began to quote all kinds of scriptures and that fear just went away. Why? Because, He is with me. My Heavenly Father (Abba)(Daddy) loves you and me!

God is with you always! We don’t have to ask God to be with us, because He already is with us. Stop praying those religious prayers that say God be with me today. That would be like me telling my mom please be with me as we walk down this scary ramp. She was already with me. Too many times we forget that the One who saved us is living in us. We forget that He sent the Holy Spirit to live in us and to comfort us. After all He is called “Comforter.” John 16:7Nevertheless I tell you the truth; It is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you. Stop worrying all the time because the Word of God says that He is with us.

Because God is with you, why not talk to Him? When you feel fear coming on talk to the Lord because He can show you how to get rid of it. When you say I feel lonely you are cutting God right out of the picture. He is with you always! He said, Hebrews 13:5b for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. There is no reason to feel lonely. There is no reason to be afraid. There is no reason for us to say God be with us today. That is like a pregnant woman saying I want to get more pregnant. Really!?

God is with you always. Talk to Him, He enjoys conversation. As my brother Paul B Thomas stated in this mornings devotion “Each morning the first thing I do is thank God for a new day, a brand new day. God’s gift of a day to me in person. That’s why I make my thanks to God the first thing in the morning.” He is remembering God first thing. He is conversing with God because He knows that God is there.

God loves you! Stop what your doing, look to the Lord, start the conversation, listen to Him speak and you will know that God is right there with you. Be Blessed!

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    The comforter…. It’s amazing how songs can be a comfort. I guess “comfort” is a word you hear among christian folks and older folks at that. I guess, its not a word used much by the lost and unsaved. After all, where would they get their comfort from?

    My brother thanks for the note in your blog about me. Your connecting and linking is appreciated
    Paul

  2. Paul says:

    Pastor Phil are you on Twitter?

  3. Paul says:

    Pastor Phil thanks for connecting on twitter and posting my Blog…have a mega weak-end… or rather I should say have a mega strong-finish!

Leave a Reply

