Rumble to Humble

Posted: February 29, 2012 in God, Help
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

James 4:6

Amplified Bible (AMP)

6But He gives us more and more grace ([a]power of the Holy Spirit, to meet this evil tendency and all others fully). That is why He says, God sets Himself against the proud and haughty, but gives grace [continually] to the lowly (those who are humble enough to receive it).

You don’t have to beat yourself up to get humble. When you resist to be proud and haughty you are coming with a humble attitude. You are placing others ahead of yourself. You are placing God ahead of yourself. The bible says that He will give you more and more grace. Grace is the unmerited favor. You can’t earn it or achieve it. Grace comes when you humble yourself before God. Placing God higher than self.

I remember one time my wife and I were having a little intense fellowship. I believe that I was completely right and she believed that she was right. Well, I was wrong and she was right but she humbled herself and came to me and asked for forgiveness. She put off knowing that she was right and laid her feelings aside. She came to me being humble and the Lord gave her much Grace. She found favor in the sight of the Lord because she was determined to be humble and not prideful. Even though she was right she laid down her rights. She put pride aside and let God’s Grace and Love intervene. After she asked for forgiveness, I felt like a dirty man. Wow, did it hurt! She not only came humbly but she extended mercy to me. I made sure that I asked for forgiveness but I also admitted I was wrong. Because I wanted to be right, I let pride come in. I let my feelings get in the way and I did not extend grace or mercy.

God taught me that I don’t always have to be wrong to ask for forgiveness. I need to be humble to ask for forgiveness. If you want to restore a relationship with someone than humble yourself and ask for forgiveness, even if you were the one who was right. Placing someone else’s welfare above your own will cause Grace to leap out and you will start to see the unmerited favor of God’s hands at work. You don’t have to rumble to be humble. You just have to say no to the spirit of pride and haughtiness. To have Grace at work in your life, you need to put yourself in the second position. When you put yourself second you will see God lift you up above all. His desire is to see you successful in all things. Success comes from being humble and not who can rumble. Don’t let yourself get ahead of God! If you do, then you will miss out on the blessing. Stay humble and God will place you in front!

Scripture Study: James 4:6-11

Be Blessed!

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    I like the thought here that humility leads to the exercise of grace..coming from both partnes, the one being humble and the one approached…

    Looking back over the times my life has been influenced and touched by others, it’s not so much by their strength, but by their humility. I remember a Pastor in Michigan asked me what I thought about a biblical issue, to be frank, I was taken back by him asking me, He was a pastor and me a travelling preacher….. I saw his “strength” that day and respected him all the more as a leader.

    Thanks Pastor Phil for a thought provoker.
    Paul

Leave a Reply

