Strip Search

Posted: March 7, 2012 in God, Help
Tags: , , , , , ,

Psalm 139:23-24

King James Version (KJV)

 23Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:  24And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

All of us need to have a strip search done to us. This needs to be done by our permission. Just like David said “(strip) search me God. He was saying get down on the deep parts of me and tell me what I have hidden from myself. Bring them to light so that I can confess them. Try me and see what my thoughts are. I need to get clean before You my Lord. I need to be right before Your eyes. I desire to be better and do better. I am a man who is ready to be lead in the everlasting way.

When I was about ten years old I thought I would be able to get one over on my mom. I put about a half roll of toilet paper in my pants before I was to get spanked. It worked at first until my little brother tried to do the same thing. He left the toilet paper hanging out of his pants and my mom saw it. Oh I knew from that moment that I was about to be strip searched. I was trying to get the toilet paper out of my pants when all of a sudden I heard my name called and my mom had a big wad of toilet paper in her hands. I knew I was going to be in big trouble so I had to think quickly. Nothing came to me because I was scared. She said drop your pants and lets see what you have in behind area. Sure enough there was the toilet paper. I couldn’t believe she found it. I thought for sure I would get away with this. Yeah Right! My mom was not born yesterday! She found it on one child and she had to check the other. I thought I could hide it away. I thought who would know except for me.

This is an example of how we are with God. We think we have hidden away secret problems. Secret sins and thoughts. After time goes by we forget that we have hidden things. We get so used to the secret that we think of it more as truth, rather than sin. Can you say REPROBATE? We choose to forget about the secrets that we have and then we wonder why our blessings are being hindered. We believe that we are clean but we often forget to check to see if we tried to hide something. We think we are right with God, but we don’t have Him do a Strip Search. Usually when your blessings are being hindered it’s because you need to do a strip search. You need to do an examination. You need to be stripped down to see what is holding you back.

God wants the best for His children. Just like my mom she wanted the best for her children. She wanted her children to grow up and be better than her. She spanked because she knew that it would help us turn around and not to do the same thing over again. She showed me that she was smarter than me and that she knew more than I did. This was God working in my mom. God knows all things and He does not want you to live a bad lifestyle. He wants the best for His children.

As an adult today, I don’t have anyone spanking me. I have a Heavenly Father who I can go to and say, look, I need you to strip search me and show me my heart and try my thoughts and see if there is any wicked way in me. I want to be lead in the everlasting way. I want to be right-standing with You Lord. Let me tell you, when you ask God to search you, you better be prepared. It hurts! Why? Because He will show you what you refused to look at. He will show how you have behaved. He will correct you with His Word and He will forgive you and He will not remember your sin anymore. So go now! Go to the Father and ask Him to strip search you. The quicker you find out what is wrong the quicker the blessings will flow. Don’t hold back! Your blessings are about to overtake you today!

Scripture Study: Psalm 128

Be Blessed!

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    God bless you Pastor Phil Trust your weekend has been a great one for you. A cool story, or not so cool when you had the hiding of yor mom….lol, you got a crazy sense of humour. but you make a good point. The quicker he deals with us the sooner we get to the big reward

    URA Blessing
    Paul

Leave a Reply

