I’m not weak, I’m gentle

Posted: March 31, 2012 in Help, Identity, Love, Peace
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Timothy 2:24

King James Version (KJV)

 24And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,

Gentle is defined as  mild in temperament or behavior; kind or tender. Are you kind and tender? Are you mild in temperament? I ask these questions because behind closed doors people are not always as they seem. The Bible makes it very clear that a servant of the Lord must not strive. Strive is defined as those who engage in a war of words, to quarrel, wrangle, dispute. As I observe people on the streets, grocery stores and malls, I see people who are constantly striving. They are so full of strife, because something was not the way they expected it to be. This is just like the church today. These same people who are in the streets, grocery stores and malls are the ones who are sitting in the church pews acting like nothing is wrong. I am talking about you. The one who might be reading this now. The one who is probably offended.

How do I know this? I used to be one. I used to be the one who consistently quarreled with my wife and children and then I would come to church and act like nothing was wrong. I used to be the one who was in great strife. My wife and I used to have some serious arguments right before service and I used to tell her I was not going to church. I used to drive all the way to church only to turn right back around and go home. I liked church and the people but my wife and I just didn’t get along. We constantly were nagging one another. We were as the book of James would say, “double-minded.” One moment I would say I love you and you mean the world to me and in a matter of two minutes I would be yelling at her.

At the time I didn’t know how to love my wife properly and I most certainly did not know how to love God. Why? Because I was not gentle, kind or patient. The weird thing is, I am very tender-hearted, but not to the ones I love. I am patient with others but not with the ones I love. I am kind to others but not with the ones I love. When you are in strife you are not teachable, patient, kind or gentle. The words that come out of your mouth are stronger than your actions. Words need to be gentle in use. You can still be upset and be gentle. As a matter of fact the bible says be angry and sin not. Ephesians 4:26 Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath:

Like I said, I used to be that way. I am gentle today and I am patient, teachable and loving. My wife, children and I have more peace than we have ever had. Yes, sometimes the old man tries to creep back up, but I put him down. I was never a striker or one who would lay my hands on someone, but, I was mean with my mouth. You can be gentle when it comes to laying hands on someone but you can be a murderer when you open your mouth. Do an examination today and see if you are being gentle. As matter of fact, ask your husband or wife if they think your gentle. Ask them to be honest and choose not to get mad if they say your mean, demeaning, sarcastic…ETC. If you are truly a servant of the Lord then you need to make sure that you’re not in strife and that you will be gentle, apt to teach, patient, kind and LOVING! True servants of the Lord will always lay down their life for others.

Scripture Study: Ephesians 4:1-12

Be Blessed!

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    Amen and amen…. gentleness a fruit of Godliness. Thank you for sharing these points today Pastor Phil

Leave a Reply

