He’s the Leader, I’m the Follower

Posted: April 3, 2012 in Help
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Deuteronomy 17:18-20

King James Version (KJV)

 18And it shall be, when he sitteth upon the throne of his kingdom, that he shall write him a copy of this law in a book out of that which is before the priests the Levites: 19And it shall be with him, and he shall read therein all the days of his life: that he may learn to fear the LORD his God, to keep all the words of this law and these statutes, to do them: 20That his heart be not lifted up above his brethren, and that he turn not aside from the commandment, to the right hand, or to the left: to the end that he may prolong his days in his kingdom, he, and his children, in the midst of Israel.

God is dealing with a king in these last couple of verses. This king must follow the Lord and must read the book of law daily. He is to fear the Lord his God. Meaning he is to reverence Him for all of his life, so that he will stay upon his throne a long time. God did not just want any old king to lead His people. God wanted a man of integrity. God wants a man who will reverence Him. God wants a leader who will first follow Him and not go after other gods.

I have made this statement many times but I did not coin the phrase: “A good leader is a good follower.” Why? Because he listens and performs the duties required of him. God is not a dictator, but He has requirements. I have found that many times I have wanted to be a good follower but have found lack in the performance of my duties. When I find the lack of performance in my daily duties it tells me that I have not been a good follower. Why? Because I have started to follow something different. When you find yourself following something different rather than keeping your focus on the leader, stop what you are doing and get back to following. I have found when I have not been properly following the Lord, my leadership in my house, finances, relationships and church suffer. I don’t want them to suffer, but it does because I am lacking in my following. God desires to lead His people to blessings. God desires to keep you blessed. So if you’re not walking in the blessings, maybe it’s because you have stopped following. Realize the enemy will desire to trip you up but don’t stop following. God has made you a leader for His purpose. Be like the King of Kings and follow your leader.

Scripture Study: James 4:1-7

Be Blessed!

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    powerful… Pastor Phil.. Ilike this lets me know the responsibility for success is his. We just obey, and its his responsibility to make all good things happen.
    Paul

Leave a Reply

