1 Corinthians 13:7

Amplified Bible (AMP)

7Love bears up under anything and everything that comes, is ever ready to believe the best of every person, its hopes are fadeless under all circumstances, and it endures everything [without weakening].

Love bears it all. Love never gets weak and always believes the very best about everyone. You can run away from God, but, God who is love, will never run away from you.

After I turned 19 years old I recommitted my life back to God to do whatever He needed me to do. However after a little time of working in my church I became jaded. I was disappointed with my Youth Pastor. There was a falling out between him and myself. I didn’t want to work for the church or God again. I was feeling really upset. I told God that I would do whatever He wanted except I had a big but… The but was if someone were to hurt me I would step down. I would leave the church! This is something I learned from others. When something would go wrong I would just give in and get out.

If everyone were to give up then the church would fail. Why? Because there will always be disappointments. Someone is going to hurt you. Someone is going to say something stupid. However, God never gave up on you. Especially when you said something hurtful or stupid. His love remained the same. His love is not conditional but unconditional. The Bible says that God is not a respecter of persons. If He was, then none of us would make Heaven. None of us would feel or sense love.

Maybe you have felt like you want to give in and get out of your church. Maybe you have felt like all Christians want to do is to hurt you. Maybe you feel like all Pastors are mean because you had a mean Pastor. Maybe your hurt because you have not let go of past hurts. If this should be you, let me encourage you!

Love believes the very best about every person. When someone does you wrong, choose to love them more. When they act stupid, love them more. Go out of your way to show love. Jesus was spit upon! How would you react? Love is always ready to believe the very best about every person. No matter what you say to me about someone I am going to choose to believe the very best about the person anyways. Loves hope is fadeless under all circumstances. Even when you watch someone be mean to another you can rely on love in the midst of the circumstance. Love never becomes weak.

In order for love to operate properly I needed to forgive and forget what the Youth Pastor did to me. I chose to walk in love instead of quitting! I started to reap a real blessing the moment I let love work. Today I am still ministering because of the love that Jesus has shown me and because I am not a quitter. I love because He first loved me. Love has made the circumstances of life small in my eyes. With love you can conquer a multitude of complaints, rifts and sins. With love you can cause others to walk like you. Be a leader! God is the strong safety you will never lose with.

Scripture Study: John 6:22-29

Be Blessed!

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    A Very practival message Pastor Phil, I have some friends who are struggling right now with church stuff, Iknow it’s unreasonable to think that that we wont have differences in our bigger family after all we have differences too in our immediate and much smaller natural family! Your reminder today to stick with it, and walk in love is sound counsell.. Theres nothing like the love of the famiy of God
    Thank you my brother. You’re loved and valued. May God extend your borders
    Paul.

Leave a Reply

