Colossians 4:5-6

King James Version (KJV)

Walk in wisdom toward them that are without, redeeming the time. Let your speech be always with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.

The world is looking for a Savior. They may not say that to you and I, but, they are looking! So who will you represent? What wisdom will you speak from… The worldly kind or the Heavenly kind? This is a choice and it’s not hard. You should choose to be a representative of Jesus. Your wisdom should not come from this world or man, but from God. How can someone see Christ in you? When you walk in wisdom towards the ones who do not represent Christ. These kind of people will cause the unsaved to call out for the Savior. The best way to show Jesus is to walk in the wisdom that He has given you. Speak what He says. Do what He does. Follow the Word of God and listen to the Holy Spirit.

When I think about the above scripture I think of a tough piece of meat. I think of it being raw, tough and undesirable. However, if you season that raw, tough meat you can tenderize it and cause it to be one of the tastiest meats ever. Before I recommitted my life back to the Lord I was raw, tough and undesirable. There was a woman who spoke a seasoned word to me that was from God. She spoke with wisdom and understanding. Her wisdom was not of this world but from Heaven. It caused me to return to the Lord. Her words hit me to the heart. She did not tell me that I was going to Hell. She told me how much Jesus loved me. She told me that God still had a call on my life. She told me that all I had to do was call on the name of Jesus and He would save me. She told me that no matter how far I run, God will always be there. Now this wisdom may not sound grand but it was salty and it got down on the inside of me. That night I turned to the Lord and He received me. He began a great work and He still is working on me and in me everyday.

God wants seasoned salty Christians. He is not looking for traditionalist or religious people. He is not looking for someone to scream on the corner and tell everyone that they are going to Hell. He is looking for someone who will take the wisdom from above and apply it. He is looking for the ones who will model Jesus in the world. The ones that have seasoned wisdom from above, that can change the heart of an Atheist, Buddhist, Jew, a Running Backslider, Muslim and a person with a hardened heart.(This is not an all-inclusive list)  The best way to get wisdom is to ask.  James 3:17  But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. 

Be Salty today and share the love of Jesus. Being properly seasoned is the factor when you share Jesus. The only way to get seasoned is to get into the Word of God daily. Go for it, you can do it, and it will cause the blessing to take place.

Scripture Study: James 3:9-18

Be Blessed!

Comments
  1. Strong writings the past couple of days pastor!

  2. Paul says:

    Wisdom…Lord I need wisdom! Some folks say it comes with age, we know that there are some elderly foks out there that can be mean and unwise while there are some young shrewd millionaire teenagers out there too. Thank the Lord “he” is wisdom personified. Thanks for a good post today Pastor Phil

Leave a Reply

