Servitude of Gain

Posted: May 15, 2012 in God, Help, Identity
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

1 Corinthians 9:19

King James Version (KJV)

19 For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more.

As a Christian my number one desire is God’s heart beat. What is the heart beat of God? That all of man would be saved. We know this is true because He sent Jesus as a sacrificial lamb for the world. The Bible does not say for the Christian or the Jew. The Bible says for the world. John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. God does not want anyone to go to Hell! If He did He would not have sent His only Son.

Let’s look at Paul’s statement to the Corinthian Church… He is free from the world (all men). He is not bound to their traditions and religious ways. He is not set in their standards, but, he has made himself available to them. He made himself available to serve them at any capacity. He was not going to negate or compromise what the Word of God says, rather he was going to serve them that he might win them to Christ.

You don’t have to look like the world to address the world. You don’t have to have a problem to understand someone. You need to serve people without compromising the Word of God. Many years ago I thought I needed to dress like a gang member to minister to them. I used to think I had to hang out in the bar to minister to the drunks and alcoholics. I used to believe that I had to experience the same things in order to win them. All I did was compromise the Word of God in my life. I made the testimony of Christ to no avail.

I learned from that time. I learned that Jesus did not have to experience death to raise Lazarus. I learned that Jesus did not have to suffer with leprosy to make a leprous man whole. I learned that Jesus never compromised to win others. Like Jesus, Paul, John…ETC, we do not have to compromise to serve others. We just need to be a light in the dark.

So, if you want to gain people to Christ you need to make sure that you do not compromise the Word of God. Serve others the way that Christ served the Church. Serve others in-spite of being mistreated. Serve others without compromising the Word of God!

Scripture Study: Romans 14:12-18

Comments
  1. So true Pastor! I blogged on this same subject last month. We are the salt and we can’t afford to lose our savor.

    http://theriverministries.net/2012/04/17/all-things-to-all-men/

Leave a Reply

