1 Corinthians 15:33

King James Version (KJV)

33 Be not deceived: evil communications corrupt good manners.

Evil communication, companionship and unions will corrupt the heart and it will affect the mannerism of a person. I know this because I used to hang out with a group of people who corrupted my manners. Understanding this… Because I chose to hang out with them I began to speak like them. The more a person hangs out in corruption the more their manners, character, morals and principles will become polluted and changed. Why? Because corruption is meant to reverse that which is good.

Corruption does not happen over night. It is a process. Not a single person is born corrupt. Follow me here for just a moment. Parents train up their children. Children will follow what they see. Children will speak what has been spoken. Children will imitate what was done. Why? Because they have a mentor. The Bible says Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Training is about learning. If you have trained your child to be disrespectful then the child will be disrespectful. If you train your child to have good manners then they will have good manners. However if you train up your child to have good manners but they are constantly around T.V. that promotes violence and poor manners then your child will be confused and take part in what it receives the most of.

Corruption is bred into the hearts of people. Jesus said Luke 6:45 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.Why did Jesus say this? Because He knew what it took to change the heart of a person. That which goes into your heart (spirit) will come out of your mouth. It’s not what you eat that corrupts you… It’s your mouth that brings corruption. Corruption is sown through the eyes, ears and mouth. All of these are gateways into the heart of a person.

Let me give you an example… When I was a child we had a Pitbull. Many people would tell us that they are considered one of the meanest dogs around. I would tell everyone this dog will never be mean because we will treat her right. That dog lived for 11 years and not once did she ever hurt anyone. Why? Because we treated her right and we loved on her. No matter what people said we made sure that we did not corrupt our dog. Our dog was gentle because of the way we handled her. She was always playful! Where did that nature come from? It came from a people who would not seek corruption but love.

So if you want corruption to stop in your life then get some new friends, some different television programs and different music. This might sound so super spiritual but I have been on both sides of the track and I do not desire the corrupt side of the track. My life is different because I have a mother who would continually remind of the music and TV shows I would watch. She would continually tell me that my life could be different if I would change friends and get new ones. My mom inspired me to live a better life that would be pleasing to the Lord. I went from a son who sought corruption to a son who sought the incorruptible. I owe a lot to my mother. She prayed for me when I was down in the dumps and she blessed me when I didn’t deserve it. She pressed through all the heartache and pain of watching her baby boy behave so poorly. She would continually remind about the Word of God and how God has called me. She did not give up regardless of what I was doing. She confessed the Word of God over my life and helped me to see why I needed to get back into church and get right with the Lord. My mom didn’t quote a lot of scripture to me but she would remind of my morals, character, manners, and principles. This has blessed me today!

I am a true story of a blessing to my parents. I went from incorruptible to corruptible and then back to incorruptible. I went from wayward son to be blessing to my parents. Mom, God has honored your prayers. Since I asked Jesus to be Lord of my life, my life has changed for the best. I took off the corruptible and put on incorruption. Thank you mom for all you do and for all you have done. You are true mother. A woman of wisdom, understanding and prayer. Thank you for not giving up or giving in when it looked so bleak. Thank you for not giving me up for adoption or aborting me. Thank you for being my mother and showing me God. I dedicate this blog to you mom.

Scripture Study: 1 Corinthians 15:33-34

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

