Galatians 3:13-14

The Message (MSG)

13-14 Christ redeemed us from that self-defeating, cursed life by absorbing it completely into himself. Do you remember the Scripture that says, “Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree”? That is what happened when Jesus was nailed to the cross: He became a curse, and at the same time dissolved the curse. And now, because of that, the air is cleared and we can see that Abraham’s blessing is present and available for non-Jews, too. We are all able to receive God’s life, his Spirit, in and with us by believing—just the way Abraham received it.

Christ has removed you from that law of defeat and has placed you in the blessing. God’s blessing is available to anyone who receives Jesus. It’s impossible to have the blessing of Abraham on your life without first accepting Jesus. The blessing comes upon you the moment that you accept Jesus.

Jesus took the cross for you. You did not hang on a tree and if you did then you would be considered cursed. Jesus took the curse so that you would not have to. Jesus laid down His life so that the blessing would come upon you and overtake you. Blessing means God’s favor and protection upon you. It also means grace. Grace is the dividing factor between the curse and the blessing. You can’t be blessed and cursed at the same time.

Many times I have heard people talk about how bad they have something, but in reality if they would really look upon their lives they would be able to see the blessing. You will go through trials and tribulations but that does not mean the blessing is removed. It does not mean that grace has left you. Getting through the problem is a matter of your confession of faith in God’s Word. Confession means to speak like God speaks. God does not speak death, He speaks life and blessing. Instead of being stubborn about talking the problem and the cursed things, start being adamant about talking your blessing and the grace that God has made sufficient for you. God’s grace is always abounding and the blessing is always abounding. Stand in your blessing! Talk your blessing! Walk in your blessing!

You might say I don’t know how? Okay… Say this… I am blessed of the Lord. The blessing of the Lord is upon me and it makes room for me always. I am a child of the most high God and I am seated in heavenly places. God’s grace abounds in me and I am a distributor of this grace. The blessing of the Lord makes me rich and I have no sorrow because God will not add that to me. I am blessed and the devil knows it. I am not moved by what I see or hear. I am moved by the Word of God and the Holy Spirit. I am not a curse but a blessing because of Jesus. God is my source and I will make Him known. The devil can’t defeat me unless I give in to him. I will not allow him to rob me of my blessings in Jesus name.

Comments
  1. I really like the translation on that verse with the use of the term “self-defeat.” How true! Great stuff pastor!

Leave a Reply

