The Habitation of God

Posted: September 27, 2012 in God, Identity
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ephesians 2:22

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

22 And in him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit.(A)

How do you see God’s place? Where does He dwell? God’s place is not full of evil, neither can it ever be. God’s habitation is found in you. Shouldn’t you keep yourself clean? Shouldn’t you make sure that all is well in you?

I am asking these questions for purpose. When I was a teenager I did not like the way I looked. I felt like I was not good enough. This came about because I did not understand my identity. I did not know that God’s house was in me. I know someone who is reading this blog and is probably thinking how can this guy say this… I can say this because of the scripture found in 1 Corinthians 6:19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? As a Christian I was made fun of in school. I decided to hide what I believed. I remember in freshman baseball most of the guys called me preacher and that embarrassed me. I thought that was a bad name to be called. I didn’t realize how much that was a complement to God. When I was a teenager I was always looking for approval from my peers and anyone who was popular. I was looking for approval from my parents and family members. I did not get a lot of approval because of my actions. I did get attention but it was not the right attention. I was rebelling yet I had God who was living in me.

After a time I found myself looking to drugs and alcohol. I found myself drinking more than most people. I was drinking and doing drugs to escape from what I knew. I was drinking and doing drugs to escape failure yet I was failing in what I was doing. Where was God in all of this? Didn’t He care? Doesn’t He see what I am going through? This was my daily prayers. This is what I would say after a long day at school. The people I longed to hang out with could care less and the people who cared about me I cared less about them. Talk about being ironic. My heart was torn and my life seemed dim. After a long time of running from God, I found myself turning to Him.

See I did not want old-time religion or some fake Christianity filled with legalism. I was looking for a real relationship. I needed God to be real and I needed to talk to Him like a Father and friend. I don’t remember many of my Pastor’s sermons because I was too interested in myself. I am sure that he preached on 1 Corinthians 6:19 but as a teenager I was not that interested. What I needed to know is that God lives in me. I was reminded of what my Sunday School teacher taught me. When you ask Jesus into your life He makes His home in you. What a revelation!

Today as a Senior Pastor of one of the best churches in the world (Love Walk Christian Center).(Bias opinion of course) I am reminded of the habitation of God. I am reminded of the many people who need Jesus and who are lacking a relationship with God. I can see today that most people are driven by what they see on the TV, the internet, books, or magazines. Forget that stuff, it will get you no where quick. God who loves you dwells in you. You don’t have to look like someone or act like someone to be someone. You are the temple of God where the Holy Spirit dwells. You’re special and you’re blessed! You don’t need man’s approval for anything! Seek God first and He will make your way pleasant. As you think about keeping your home clean and spotless, think about keeping your home where God dwells cleaned and spotless.
Scripture Study: Ephesians 2:13-22

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

