Philippians 3:14

Amplified Bible (AMP)

14 I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward.

I have been working with this theme called the “Past” for a about a week or so. The reason why I am discussing this issue is, I have heard many people talk about their past and find that they don’t just talk about it they live there. It’s impossible to move forward if the person keeps going backwards. My friend who is one of the Elders in our church said this statement to me on the golf course about 4 years ago… “If the golf ball goes forward it means that you have positive yardage which is forward progress, every inch counts.”  I laughed when I heard that statement because as simple as it is, most people make it difficult. It does not matter the distance, so long as it is moving forward. Forward progress is positive yardage and it is about moving to a desired destination.

A person like myself, who likes to play golf is always looking for distance and consistency. I really enjoy playing golf even when my forward progress ends up in the woods or a sand trap. Why? Because I know that I am moving ahead. The game of golf is meant to be relaxing but most who play golf get frustrated because they don’t hit the ball like some of the professionals. Let me say this to you… They are called professionals because they spend time on their sport. They practice long hours and spend a lot of time making adjustments. Why? So they can improve. This should be the action of the Christian Believer. They should continually practice on moving forward in the things of God instead of settling for last years miracles and anointing.

Let’s transfer this over to the Christian believers life. Just because you have a problem or something creeps up does not mean that you quit. I watch so-called Christians quit and give up when they get attacked in their health or finances or marriage..ETC. This is not forward progress. Paul talks about pressing toward the goal. Just like a golfer who is looking to get the golf ball into the cup (hole), he makes every stride to pick the right club for the distance that he is at. His desire is to get the golf ball into the hole without taking a bogey (penalty) on his scorecard. As a Christian you should be pressing toward the prize of the high calling of Jesus Christ. You should be looking on how to move forward and to make progress.

In my life as a Christian I have had ups and downs but I have not quit and I don’t plan on quitting ever. My plan is to have positive yardage in the Lord, in His Word, in prayer, in my marriage, in my parenting and in Pastoring. I sometimes look back but only to see where I came from. I am not the same as I was yesterday and I don’t have plans to try to make up for yesterday. I am pressing ahead! Do the same! You can move ahead and you will have positive yardage.
Stay constant and be consistent.

Scripture Study: Philippians 3:14-21

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

